VCV Christmas Meal & Awards Report

If you missed the Venta Christmas Meal & Awards last Saturday, no fear! Here’s a summary of the proceedings and a list of the 2019 Award Winners 2019…

Despite the (endless) rain, there was a good show at the Running Horse in Littleton with a cross section of members across all the disciplines, plus partners. It was great to so many of the young riders enjoying the evening as well as the seasoned pros of the club.

In between the excellent three courses served up by the Running Horse, Jamie Plumb took control of the mic and superbly announced the awards. Some members had a busy evening, collecting numerous awards – Matt Gilmour, Owen Lewis, Izzy Wild, Harper Towns, Nick Tarmey and James Fox, to name a few.

Below is the full list of awards presented and winners.

Award Winner(s)
Club Person of the Year Helen Armour
Club Young Person of the Year Oscar Pratt
Volunteer of the Year Monica Hampson
Best All-Round Rider Owen Lewis
Best All-round Female Rider Izzy Wild
Best road race performance Oliver Winwood-Bratchel
MTB ‘Muddy Wheel’ trophy David Martin
Cyclo Cross Champion Malcolm again
Time Trialist of the Year Owen Lewis
Time Trialist of the Year – Veteran Nick Tarmey
Most improved racer Richard New
Junior/Youth – Best single performance Matt Gilmour
Junior Road Racing Champion Matt Gilmour
Junior Track Champion Matt Gilmour
School Boy – Road Racing Champion Matt Gilmour
School Boy – 10 mile TT Champion Matt Gilmour
Go-Ride ‘Future Champ’ award Harper Towns
Team Time Trial award Mixed TTT at Abingdon – Higgs, Anderson, Hughes, N. Towns, Gilmour, Chilcott, Wild, H. Towns
Mens Time Trial VCV Series Trophy Phil Hurst
Club Hill Climber of the year Paul Double
100 mile Men’s century champion Dave Martin (SDW in a day)
100 mile Women’s century champion Izzy Wild
12 Hours+ ‘Against the Clock’ Trophy Nick Tarmey
Prix du Grimpeur – Highest Col Ed Gurney
VCV Strava – GC – Female Izzy Wild
VCV Strava – GC – Male Daniel Mahony
Team support/crew of the year Martin Pratt and pit crew
Broken Spoke Trophy James Fox
Club ‘Best Dressed’ Cyclist Award Jacob Hibberd
‘Grand Tour’ adventure award Pete Wyatt
Most reliable chaingang attender Ben Gibbs/James Fox